2009-2010 Western Home Awards

Winners and honorable mentions from the Sunset-AIA awards program

Photo gallery:  2009-2010 Western Home Award winners


Winner: Taalman Koch Architecture, Los Angeles, (structural engineer: Gordon Polon) for the Opie-Burleigh itHouse single-family residence, Three Rivers, California
Honorable mention: The Miller Hull Partnership, Seattle, for the Sky Ranch single-family residence, Seattle
Honorable mention: Stephen Atkinson Architecture, Palo Alto, California, for the Williams Cabin single-family residence, Durango, Colorado


Winner: Leo Marmol, FAIA, and Ron Radziner, FAIA, Marmol Radziner, Los Angeles, for the Vienna Way single-family residence, Venice, California
Honorable mention: Peter Bohlin, FAIA, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Seattle office, for the Sheldon Gatehouse single-family residence, Cle Elum, Washington
Honorable mention: Worker, Inc., Tucson, for the Mackey-Yaseen single-family residence, Tucson


Winner: John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects, Los Angeles, for the Big Porch House single-family residence, Santa Monica
Honorable mention: Ogrydziak/Prillinger Architects, San Francisco, for the Hundred Foot House single-family residence, Orinda, California
Honorable mention: Olson Kundig Architects, Seattle, for the Montecito Residence single-family residence, Montecito, California


Winner: Michael P. Johnson, faculty lead, Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture at Taliesin West, Scottsdale, Arizona, for the Taliesin Mod.Fab single-family residence
Honorable mention: Jesse Bornstein, AIA, Jesse Bornstein Architecture, Santa Monica, for the Green on 19 Townhomes, Santa Monica
Honorable mention: Leo Marmol, FAIA, and Ron Radziner, FAIA, Marmol Radziner, Los Angeles, for the Utah House single-family residence, La Sal, Utah


Winner: Ogrydziak/Prillinger Architects, San Francisco, for the Honighaus single-family residence, San Francisco
Honorable mention: Robert Sweet, Ras-a Inc., Redondo Beach, California, for the p¬_House single-family residence, Redondo Beach, California
Honorable mention: Peter M. Koliopoulos, AIA, Circle West Architects, Scottsdale, Arizona, for the Desert House single-family residence, Paradise Valley, Arizona


Winner: Steven Bull, AIA, Workshop Architecture+Design, Seattle, for the Colman Triplex multiunit dwelling, Seattle
Honorable mention: Ross Chapin and Karen DeLucas, Ross Chapin Architects, Langley, Washington, for the Wyers End Neighborhood, White Salmon, Washington
Honorable mention: Peter Bohlin, FAIA, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Seattle, for the Envelope House triplex, Seattle


David Baker, FAIA, David Baker + Partners, San Francisco
Barbara Bestor, AIA, Bestor Architecture, Los Angeles
Wendell Burnette, AIA, Wendell Burnette Architects, Phoenix
Jeff Kovel, AIA, Skylab Architecture, Portland
Allison Arieff, home editor-at-large, Sunset magazine
Laura Dye Lang, home editor, Sunset magazine

DownComment IconEmail IconFacebook IconGoogle Plus IconGrid IconInstagram IconLinkedin IconList IconMenu IconMinus IconPinterest IconPlus IconRss IconSave IconSearch IconShare IconShopping Cart IconSpeech BubbleSnapchat IconTumblr IconTwitter IconWhatsapp IconYoutube Icon