Sunset proudly presents our 2021 Travel Awards to honor the folks in hospitality who have continued to provide unparalleled service during such a challenging period in travel.

Hiking couple and dogs at Zion National Park, courtesy of Greater Zion Convention & Tourism Office
Greater Zion Convention & Tourism Office

We picked this year’s awards from submitted entries, ranging from accommodations and transportation options to places to eat and drink. Think of it as a guide for whenever you’re ready to travel—whether now or later. Above all, it’s a thank you to those working tirelessly to adapt and keep us safe, and even finding time to innovate along the way.

Jump to all entries for:

The List of Winners

Name Address Website Award
REI Arizona Backpacking–Aravaipa Canyon https://www.rei.com/adventures/trips/weekend/arizona-aravaipa-backpacking.html Adventure Guide
The Last Blockbuster on Earth 211 NE Revere Ave., Bend, OR 97701 http://www.bendblockbuster.com Desirable Destination
Negranti Creamery 1211 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446 http://www.negranticreamery.com Sweet Treat
Adelaide L’Auberge Del Mar 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 https://www.laubergedelmar.com/dining/adelaide/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Three Creeks Brewing 721 S Desperado Court, Sisters, OR 97759 https://www.threecreeksbrewing.com/ Desirable Destination
Deschutes Brewery Public House 1044 NW Bond St., Bend, OR 97703 https://www.deschutesbrewery.com/ Desirable Destination
Cascade Lakes Brewing Co. 1441 SW Chandler Ave. #100, Bend, OR 97702 https://www.cascadelakes.com/ Desirable Destination
Boss Rambler Beer Club 1009 NW Galveston Ave., Bend, OR 97701 https://bossrambler.com/ Desirable Destination
Backwards Distillling Company 139 West 2nd Street, Suite 1B, Casper, WY 82601 https://www.backwardsdistilling.com/ Forward Distiller
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253 https://www.camelbackinn.com Dinner with a View
ADERO Scottsdale 13225 N Eagle Ridge Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85268 https://www.aderoscottsdale.com/ Dinner with a View
Visit Central Oregon 57100 Beaver Drive, Bldg 6, Suite 130 Sunriver, OR 97707 https://visitcentraloregon.com/ Desirable Destination
Visit Hood River PO Box 1842, Hood River, OR 97031 https://visithoodriver.com/ Nature Lover’s Destination
The Dining Room at Salish Lodge & Spa 6501 Railroad Ave SE, Snoqualmie, WA 98065 https://www.salishlodge.com/ Dinner with a View
Lincoln Steakhouse & Bar 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253 http://www.lincolnsteakhouse.com Dinner with a View
SkyTop Lounge at ADERO Scottsdale 13225 N Eagle Ridge Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85268 http://www.aderoscottsdale.com Dinner with a View
VAGA Restaurant & Bar 2100 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 http://www.vagarestaurant.com Dinner with a View
Amangani 1535 NE Butte Road, Jackson, WY 83001 https://www.aman.com/resorts/amangani Park Lodging
Camp Sarika by Amangiri 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, UT 84741 https://www.aman.com/resorts/amangiri/camp-sarika Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
Under Canvas Lake Powell–Grand Staircase 555 South Jacob Tank Rd, Big Water, UT 84741 https://www.undercanvas.com/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
AutoCamp Yosemite 6323 CA-140, Midpines, CA 95345 https://autocamp.com/yosemite/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
Yonder Escalante 2020 West UT-12, Escalante, UT 84726 https://www.stayyonder.com/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
AutoCamp Russian River 14120 Old Cazadero Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 https://autocamp.com/russian-river/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
The Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011 https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/california/park-hyatt-aviara-resort/sanpa Rad Hotel Redesigns
Kaimana Beach Hotel 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.kaimana.com Island Refresh
Kona Kai Resort & Spa 1551 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106 https://www.resortkonakai.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 2525 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 https://www.kbhmaui.com Island Refresh
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 https://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/ Island Refresh
Sage Lodge 55 Sage Lodge Dr., Pray, MT 59065 https://www.sagelodge.com/ Park Lodging
Rush Creek Lodge & Spa at Yosemite 34001 Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321 https://www.rushcreeklodge.com/ Park Lodging
Schweitzer 10000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864 https://www.schweitzer.com Slopeside Retreats
The Eddy Taproom & Hotel 1640 8th St., Golden, CO 80401 https://www.theeddygolden.com/ Base Camp
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley 116 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525 https://www.skitaos.com/plan-your-visit/blake Slopeside Retreats
Salish Lodge & Spa 6501 Railroad Ave SE, Snoqualmie, WA 98065 https://www.salishlodge.com/ Dinner with a View
Gravity Haus Breckenridge 605 South Park Avenue, Breckenridge, CO 80424 https://gravityhaus.com/locations/breck-haus/ Slopeside Retreats
The Cloudveil 112 Center Street Jackson, WY 83001 https://thecloudveil.com/ Base Camp
Viceroy Snowmass 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 https://www.viceroyhotelsandresorts.com/snowmass Slopeside Retreats
Wild Rose Thai 150 NW Oregon Ave., Bend, OR 97701 https://www.wildrosethai.com/ Desirable Destination
5 Fusion & Sushi Bar 821 NW Wall Street #100, Bend, OR 97701 https://www.5fusion.com/ Desirable Destination
Sisters Coffee Co. 273 W Hood Ave., Sisters, OR 97759 https://www.sisterscoffee.com/ Desirable Destination
Glacier National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.visitglacierbay.com/ True Escapes
Olympic National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.olympicnationalparks.com/ True Escapes
Denali National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.denaliparkvillage.com/ True Escapes
The Resort at Paws Up 40060 Paws Up Road, Greenough, MT, 59823 https://www.pawsup.com/ Base Camp
Holbrooke Hotel 212 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945 https://holbrooke.com Cool Retro Redos
Campfire Hotel 721 NE 3rd St., Bend, OR 97701 https://www.campfirehotel.com Mighty Motels
The Arizona Biltmore 2400 E Missouri Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.arizonabiltmore.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401 https://www.fairmont-miramar.com Centennial Seaside Getaway
Inn at the Pier 601 Cypress St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 https://www.theinnatthepier.com Wine Country Escapes
L'Auberge Del Mar 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 https://www.laubergedelmar.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Mar Monte Hotel 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 https://www.marmontehotel.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Dr. Wilkinson’s Backyard Resort & Mineral Springs 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515 https://drwilkinson.com/ Cool Retro Redos
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515 https://www.romanspahotsprings.com/ Superlative Spas
Nobu Ryokan Malibu 22752 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265 https://malibu.nobuhotels.com/ Superlative Spas
Golden Door 777 Deer Springs Rd., San Marcos, CA 92069 https://goldendoor.com/ Superlative Spas
Noble Riot 1336 27th St., Denver, CO 80205 https://nobleriot.com/ Standout Wine Bar
Carneros Resort and Spa 4048 Sonoma Highway, Napa, CA 94559 https://www.carnerosresort.com Wine Country Escapes
Milliken Creek Inn 1815 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.millikencreekinn.com/ Wine Country Escapes
Flamingo Resort 2777 4th St., Santa Rosa, CA 95405 https://www.flamingoresort.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Poetry Inn 6380 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.poetryinn.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
The Lodge at Sonoma 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476 https://www.thelodgeatsonoma.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa 29 E MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476 https://www.macarthurplace.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Glendeven Inn & Lodge 8205 N. Hwy 1, Little River, CA 95456 https://glendeven.com Park Lodging
Granada Hotel & Bistro 1130 Morro St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 https://www.granadahotelandbistro.com/ Wine Country Escapes
Stables Inn 730 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446 https://www.stablesinnpaso.com/ Mighty Motels
Cuyama Buckhorn 4923 Primero Street, New Cuyama, CA 93254 https://www.cuyamabuckhorn.com Mighty Motels
Skyview Los Alamos 9150 US-101, Los Alamos, CA 93440 https://www.skyviewlosalamos.com/ Mighty Motels
Oasis by Hoopes Vineyard 6204 Washington Street, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.hoopesvineyard.com/oasis-by-hoopes Winery Worth a Visit


Read the 2021 Wine Issue Right Here!

Get one year of Sunset—and all kinds of bonuses—for just $24.95. Subscribe now!