Whether you prefer the quiet solitude of a rural ranch, salty beach breeze, or sophisticated art hotel, this year’s entries for top places to stay fit your lifestyle.

Casa Cody, Palm Springs, California (Josh Cho Photography)
Casa Cody, Palm Springs, California (Josh Cho Photography)


View More: What to Do | How to Get There | Where to Eat & Drink | Where to Go


Jump to:

Desert Hotels

Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Bungalows in Scottsdale, Arizona (Stephanie Russo)
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Bungalows in Scottsdale, Arizona (Stephanie Russo)
Name Address Website Award
Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa 44-400 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210-9971 Featured Listing
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Bungalows 6114 N Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale AZ 85253 https://www.andazscottsdale.com/
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253 https://www.camelbackinn.com Dinner with a View
Casa Cody 175 S Cahuilla Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262 https://www.casacody.com/
Margaritaville Resort Palm Springs 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262 https://www.margaritavilleresorts.com/margaritaville-resort-palm-springs
La Quinta Resort & Club 49-499 Eisenhower Drive, La Quinta, CA 92253 https://www.laquintaresort.com/
ADERO Scottsdale 13225 N Eagle Ridge Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85268 https://www.aderoscottsdale.com/ Dinner with a View
El Farolito Bed & Breakfast Inn 514 Galisteo St., Santa Fe, NM 87501 https://farolito.com
Hotel Valley Ho 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 https://hotelvalleyho.com

Hawaii Hotels

Aston Islander on the Beach, Kapaa, Hawaii (Courtesy of Aqua-Aston Hospitality)
Aston Islander on the Beach, Kapaa, Hawaii (Courtesy of Aqua-Aston Hospitality)
Name Address Website Award
Kaimana Beach Hotel 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.kaimana.com Island Refresh
White Sands Hotel 31 Nohonani St., Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.whitesandshotel.com
The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki Beach 383 Kalaimoku Street, Waikiki Beach, HI 96815 https://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/hawaii/waikiki
Maui Kaanapali Villas 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/maui-kaanapali-villas
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/aqua-aloha-surf-waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel 2464 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/aston-waikiki-circle-hotel
Aston Waikiki Beach Tower 2470 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/aston-waikiki-beach-tower
Aston Kaanapali Shores 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, HI 96761 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/aston-kaanapali-shores
Aston Islander on the Beach 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, HI 96746 https://www.aquaaston.com/hotels/aston-islander-on-the-beach
Kona Kai Resort & Spa 1551 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106 https://www.resortkonakai.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa 200 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761 https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/hawaii/hyatt-regency-maui-resort-and-spa/oggrm
Halepuna Waikiki by Halekulani 2233 Helumoa Rd, Honolulu, HI 96815 https://www.halepuna.com/
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 2525 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 https://www.kbhmaui.com Island Refresh
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 https://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/ Island Refresh
Hana-Maui Resort 5031 Hana, Highway Hana, HI https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/hawaii/hana-maui-resort/oggal
Pure Kauai 5118 Iolani Place, Princeville, Hi 96722 https://www.purekauai.com
The Plantation Inn 174 Lahainaluna Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 https://www.theplantationinn.com/

Hotels Near State and National Parks

Asilomar Hotel–Asilomar State Park, Phoenix (Courtesy of Aramark)
Asilomar Hotel–Asilomar State Park, Phoenix (Courtesy of Aramark)
Name Address Website Award
Five Pine Lodge 1021 E Desperado Trail, Sisters, OR 97759 https://fivepinelodge.com/
Sage Lodge 55 Sage Lodge Dr., Pray, MT 59065 https://www.sagelodge.com/ Park Lodging
Rush Creek Lodge & Spa at Yosemite 34001 Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321 https://www.rushcreeklodge.com/ Park Lodging
Asilomar Hotel–Asilomar State Park 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.visitasilomar.com
El Capitan 609 W. Main Street, Merced, CA 95340 http://www.elcapitanhotel.com

Lake Hotels

Shore Lodge, McCall, Idaho (© 2012 Deborah Hardee)
Shore Lodge, McCall, Idaho (© 2012 Deborah Hardee)
Name Address Website
Shore Lodge 501 W Lake Street, McCall, ID 83638 https://shorelodge.com/
Edgewood Tahoe Resort 180 Lake Parkway, Stateline, NV 89449 https://edgewoodtahoe.com/
Zephyr Cove Resort & Marina 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.zephyrcove.com/

Mexico Hotels

Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya presidential room (Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya)
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya presidential room (Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya)
Name Address Website
Andaz Mayakoba Resort Riviera Maya Carretera Federal, Carr. Cancun - Tulum Km. 298, Solidaridad, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Q.R., Mexico https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/mexico/andaz-mayakoba-resort-riviera-maya/cunam
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel Carretera Transpeninsular Km 5 Misiones del Cabo, Cabo San Lucas, B.C.S. 23455 https://www.thompsonhotels.com/hotels/mexico/cabo-san-lucas/the-cape
Four Seasons Resort Los Cabos at Costa Palmas C. Eureka s/n La Ribera, Los Cabos, CP, 23570 Baja California Sur, Mexico https://www.fourseasons.com/loscabos/
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort Carretera Transpeninsular, Los Cabos, Baja California Sur, 23400, Mexico https://www.hiltonloscabos.com/

Mountain Hotels

YMCA of the Rockies, Estes Park, Colorado (Casey Chapman Ross)
YMCA of the Rockies, Estes Park, Colorado (Casey Chapman Ross)
Name Address Website Award
Deer Valley Resort 2250 Deer Valley Drive, Park City, UT 84060 https://www.deervalley.com
Schweitzer 10000 Schweitzer Mountain Rd, Sandpoint, ID 83864 https://www.schweitzer.com Slopeside Retreats
Togwotee Mountain Lodge 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.togwoteelodge.com
Suncadia Resort 3600 Suncadia Trail, Cle Elum, WA 98922 http://www.suncadiaresort.com/
The Eddy Taproom & Hotel 1640 8th St., Golden, CO 80401 https://www.theeddygolden.com/ Base Camp
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley 116 Sutton Place, Taos Ski Valley, NM 87525 https://www.skitaos.com/plan-your-visit/blake Slopeside Retreats
The Lodge at Jackson Hole 80 Scott Lane Jackson, WY 83002 https://lodgeatjh.com
St Julien Hotel & Spa 900 Walnut St., Boulder, CO 80302 https://stjulien.com/
Goldener Hirsch 7520 Royal Street East, Park City, UT 84060 https://www.deervalley.com/plan-your-trip/explore-lodging/goldener-hirsch
Salish Lodge & Spa 6501 Railroad Ave SE, Snoqualmie, WA 98065 https://www.salishlodge.com/ Dinner with a View
Alyeska Resort 1000 Arlberg Ave., Girdwood, AK 99587 https://alyeskaresort.com/
Gravity Haus Breckenridge 605 South Park Avenue, Breckenridge, CO 80424 https://gravityhaus.com/locations/breck-haus/ Slopeside Retreats
The Cloudveil 112 Center Street Jackson, WY 83001 https://thecloudveil.com/ Base Camp
Viceroy Snowmass 130 Wood Road, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 https://www.viceroyhotelsandresorts.com/snowmass Slopeside Retreats
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole 3335 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025 https://www.hotelterrajacksonhole.com/
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa 3385 Cody Lane, Teton Village, WY 83025 https://www.tetonlodge.com/
Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center 6700 North Gaylord Rockies Blvd., Aurora, CO 80019 https://www.marriott.com/en-us/hotels/dengr-gaylord-rockies-resort-and-convention-center/overview/
YMCA of the Rockies 2515 Tunnel Rd, Estes Park, CO 80511 https://ymcarockies.org/

Ranch Resorts

Magee Homestead, Saratoga, Wyoming (Brush Creek Luxury Ranch Collection)
Magee Homestead, Saratoga, Wyoming (Brush Creek Luxury Ranch Collection)
Name Address Website Award
The Lodge & Spa at Brush Creek Ranch 66 Brush Creek Ranch Road, Saratoga, WY 82331 https://www.brushcreekranch.com/lodgeandspa
C Lazy U 3640 Hwy. 125, Granby, CO 80446 https://www.clazyu.com/
French Creek Sportsmen's Club 66 Brush Creek Ranch Road, Saratoga, WY 82331 https://www.brushcreekranch.com/frenchcreek
Magee Homestead 66 Brush Creek Ranch Road, Saratoga, WY 82331 https://www.brushcreekranch.com/magee
Brasada Ranch 16976 SW Brasada Ranch Rd., Powell Butte, OR 97753 https://www.brasada.com/
The Alisa Guest Ranch & Resort 1054 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463 https://alisal.com/
The Resort at Paws Up 40060 Paws Up Road, Greenough, MT, 59823 https://www.pawsup.com/ Base Camp

Redesigned Hotels

Holbrooke Hotel, Grass Valley, California (Kat Alves)
Holbrooke Hotel, Grass Valley, California (Kat Alves)
Name Address Website Award
The Darling Hotel 210 North Court St., Visalia, CA 92191 https://www.visitvisalia.com
Holbrooke Hotel 212 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945 https://holbrooke.com Cool Retro Redos
Campfire Hotel 721 NE 3rd St., Bend, OR 97701 https://www.campfirehotel.com Mighty Motels
The National Exchange Hotel 211 Broad Street, Nevada City, CA 95959 https://thenationalexchangehotel.com
The Lodge at St. Edward State Park 14477 Juanita Drive Northeast, Kenmore, WA 98028 https://www.thelodgeatstedward.com/
The Arizona Biltmore 2400 E Missouri Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.arizonabiltmore.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns

Seaside Hotels

Hotel Maya, Long Beach, California (Courtesy of Hotel Maya)
Hotel Maya, Long Beach, California (Courtesy of Hotel Maya)
Name Address Website Award
Vespera Resort on Pismo Beach 147 Stimson Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 Featured Listing
Hotel Maya 700 Queensway Drive, Long Beach, CA 90802 http://www.hotelmayalongbeach.com
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401 https://www.fairmont-miramar.com Centennial Seaside Getaway
The Edgewater Hotel 2411 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121 https://www.edgewaterhotel.com/
Semiahmoo Resort, Golf, and Spa 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230 https://www.semiahmoo.com/
Carmel Garden Inn 4th Avenue & Torres St., Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA 93923 https://www.carmelgardeninn.com/
Paséa Hotel and Spa 21080 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648 https://www.meritagecollection.com/pasea-hotel
Mission Pacific Hotel 201 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054 https://www.missionpacifichotel.com
The Seabird Resort 101 Mission Ave., Oceanside, CA 92054 https://www.theseabirdresort.com
Venice V Hotel 5 Westminster Ave., Venice, CA 90291 https://www.venicevhotel.com/
The Kinney Venice Beach 737 Washington Blvd., Venice, CA 90292 https://www.thekinneyvenicebeach.com
Inn at the Pier 601 Cypress St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449 https://www.theinnatthepier.com Wine Country Escapes
Oceanpoint Ranch 7200 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA 93428 https://www.oceanpointranch.com
Marina del Rey Hotel 13534 Bali Way, Marina Del Rey, CA 90292 https://www.marinadelreyhotel.com/
The Monsaraz San Diego 1451 Rosecrans St., San Diego, CA 92106 https://www.hilton.com/en/hotels/sanplup-the-monsaraz-san-diego/
The Inn Above Tide 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965 https://innabovetide.com/
Ventana Big Sur 48123 Highway 1, Big Sur, CA 93920 https://www.ventanabigsur.com/
San Diego Mission Bay Resort 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 https://www.missionbayresort.com/
L'Auberge Del Mar 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 https://www.laubergedelmar.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Nick's Cove and Cottages 23240 Highway 1, Marshall, CA 94940 https://www.nickscove.com
Mar Monte Hotel 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 https://www.marmontehotel.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Lido House 3300 Newport Blvd. Newport Beach, CA 92663 https://lidohousehotel.com
Surf and Sand Resort 1555 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 https://www.surfandsandresort.com/
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island 124 Whittley Ave., Avalon, CA 90704 https://www.TheAvalonHotel.com
White Water Cambria 6736 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428 https://www.whitewatercambria.com
Balboa Bay Resort 1221 West Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663 https://www.balboabayresort.com/
The Andiron–Seaside Inn & Cabins 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456 https://www.TheAndiron.com
Malibu Beach Inn 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265 https://www.malibubeachinn.com/
The Ranch at Laguna Beach 31106 S. Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 https://www.theranchlb.com/
Mar Vista Farm + Cottages 35101 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445 https://marvistafarmandcottages.com/
Alila Marea Beach Resort Encinitas 2100 N Coast Hwy 101, Encinitas, CA 92024 https://www.alilahotels.com/marea-beach-resort-encinitas
The Argonaut 495 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94109 https://www.argonauthotel.com/
Terranea Resort 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275 https://www.terranea.com

Urban Hotels

The Art Hotel Denver (Courtesy of The Art Hotel Denver)
The Art Hotel Denver (Courtesy of The Art Hotel Denver)
Name Address Website
Catbird 3770 Walnut St., Denver, CO 80205 https://www.catbirdhotel.com/
AKA West Hollywood 8500 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90069 https://www.stayaka.com/aka-west-hollywood
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 2 E. Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 http://www.hotelpalomar-phoenix.com
Grand Hyatt at SFO 55 South McDonnell Road, San Francisco, CA 94128 http://www.grandhyattatsfo.com
Le Méridien Pasadena Arcadia 130 West Huntington Drive, Arcadia, CA 91007 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/laxme-le-meridien-pasadena-arcadia
The Inn at the Presidio 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129 https://www.presidiolodging.com/inn-at-the-presidio
Radisson Blu Anaheim 1601 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92805 https://www.radissonhotelsamericas.com/en-us/hotels/radisson-blu-anaheim
Ashland Springs Hotel 212 East Main St., Ashland, Oregon 97520 https://www.ashlandspringshotel.com/
Clayton Members Club & Hotel 233 Clayton St, Denver, CO 80206 https://claytondenver.com/
The Wayfarer DTLA 813 Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017 https://www.wayfarerdtla.com
Thompson Hollywood 1541 Wilcox Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90028 https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/california/thompson-hollywood/laxth
The Curtis Hotel 1405 Curtis Street, Denver, CO 80202 https://www.thecurtis.com
AC Hotel Palo Alto 744 + 750 San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, CA 94303 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/sjcao-ac-hotel-palo-alto/
Sheraton Phoenix Downtown 340 N. 3rd St., Phoenix, AZ 85003 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/phxgp-sheraton-phoenix-downtown/
Hotel Grand Stark 509 SE Grand Ave, Portland, OR 97214 https://www.palisociety.com/hotels/hotel-grand-stark/
The Gordon Hotel 555 Oak St, Eugene, OR 97401 https://www.thegordonhotel.com/
The Clift Royal Sonesta 495 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102 https:///www.sonesta.com/theclift
The ART Hotel Denver 1201 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203 https://thearthotel.com
The Garland 4222 Vineland Ave, North Hollywood, CA 91602 https://www.thegarland.com/
HALCYON, a hotel in Cherry Creek 245 Columbine St, Denver, CO 80206 https://www.halcyonhotelcherrycreek.com/
AC Hotel Missoula Downtown 175 N. Pattee Street, Missoula, MT 59802 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/msoac-ac-hotel-missoula-downtown/
The Shay 8801 Washington Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232 https://www.TheShayHotel.com
Pendry San Diego 550 J St, San Diego, CA 92101 https://www.pendry.com/san-diego/
Cavallo Point 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965 https://www.cavallopoint.com/
Pendry West Hollywood 8430 Sunset Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA, 90069 https://www.pendry.com/west-hollywood/
The Westin Anaheim Resort 1030 W Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/snawa-the-westin-anaheim-resort/
W Los Angeles–West Beverly Hills 930 Hilgard Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90024 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/laxwb-w-los-angeles-west-beverly-hills/
AKA Beverly Hills 155 N. Crescent Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90210 https://www.stayaka.com/aka-beverly-hills
Element Bend 1526 NW Wall St., Bend, OR 97703 https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/rdmel-element-bend/

Wine Country Hotels

Hotel Ynez, Solvang, California (Courtesy of Hotel Ynez)
Hotel Ynez, Solvang, California (Courtesy of Hotel Ynez)
Name Address Website Award
Westport Winery Garden Resort 1 South Arbor Road, Aberdeen, WA 98520 https://www.WestportWinery.com
Carneros Resort and Spa 4048 Sonoma Highway, Napa, CA 94559 https://www.carnerosresort.com Wine Country Escapes
Milliken Creek Inn 1815 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.millikencreekinn.com/ Wine Country Escapes
The Meritage Resort & Spa 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.meritagecollection.com/meritage-resort
Flamingo Resort 2777 4th St., Santa Rosa, CA 95405 https://www.flamingoresort.com Rad Hotel Redesigns
Poetry Inn 6380 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.poetryinn.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
The Lodge at Sonoma 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476 https://www.thelodgeatsonoma.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
MacArthur Place Hotel & Spa 29 E MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476 https://www.macarthurplace.com/ Rad Hotel Redesigns
Montage Healdsburg 100 Montage Way, Healdsburg, CA 95448 https://www.montagehotels.com/healdsburg/
Glendeven Inn & Lodge 8205 N. Hwy 1, Little River, CA 95456 https://glendeven.com Park Lodging
Hotel Ynez 2644 Mission Drive, Solvang, CA 93463 https://www.hotelynez.com/
R INN NAPA 623 Coombs St., Napa, CA 94559 https://www.rinnnapa.com
Carter Estate Winery and Resort 34450 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591 https://www.carterestatewinery.com
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591 https://www.southcoastwinery.com
Granada Hotel & Bistro 1130 Morro St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 https://www.granadahotelandbistro.com/ Wine Country Escapes
Stables Inn 730 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446 https://www.stablesinnpaso.com/ Mighty Motels
The Allison Inn & Spa 2525 Allison Lane, Newberg, OR 97132 https://www.theallison.com
River Terrace Inn 1600 Soscol Ave., Napa, CA 94559 https://www.riverterraceinn.com/
Cuyama Buckhorn 4923 Primero Street, New Cuyama, CA 93254 https://www.cuyamabuckhorn.com Mighty Motels
Skyview Los Alamos 9150 US-101, Los Alamos, CA 93440 https://www.skyviewlosalamos.com/ Mighty Motels


Read the 2021 Wine Issue Right Here!

Get one year of Sunset—and all kinds of bonuses—for just $24.95. Subscribe now!