Gather your gear, or maybe just your bestie for a quiet day trip. It’s time for a hike, row, or stroll—here’s where to wander.

CIVANA Wellness Resort & Spa, Carefree, Arizona (Courtesy of CIVANA Resort & Spa)
CIVANA Wellness Resort & Spa, Carefree, Arizona (Courtesy of CIVANA Resort & Spa)


View More: Where to Stay | Where to Go | How to Get There | Where to Eat & Drink


Jump to:

Adventure Guides

Everyday California, La Jolla, California (Courtesy of Everyday California)
Everyday California, La Jolla, California (Courtesy of Everyday California)
Name Address Website Award
REI Arizona Backpacking, Aravaipa Canyon https://www.rei.com/adventures/trips/weekend/arizona-aravaipa-backpacking.html Adventure Guide
Kayak Scottsdale Salt River with REI Adventure Center guides https://destinations.rei.com/arizona/day-tours/lower-salt-river-kayaking
John Hall's Alaska https://www.kissalaska.com
Navigate Oregon 62980 Boyd Acres Road, Building B, Bend, OR 97701 https://navigateoregon.com/
Wanderlust Tours 61535 Hwy 97, Suite 13, Bend, OR 97702 http://www.wanderlusttours.com
Everyday California 2261 Avenida De La Playa, La Jolla, CA 92037 https://www.everydaycalifornia.com/
PacWhale Eco-Adventures Slip #4, Lahaina, HI 96761 https://www.pacificwhale.org/cruises/
Historic Trails West PO Box 428 Mills, Wyoming 82644 https://www.historictrailswest.com/
InquisiTours: Northwest Wine, Rail & Tours 933 University St., Walla Walla, WA 99362 https://inquisitours.com/

Attractions

Sensorio, Paso Robles, California (Copyright © 2021 Bruce Munro. All rights reserved. Photography by Serena Munro)
Sensorio, Paso Robles, California (Copyright © 2021 Bruce Munro. All rights reserved. Photography by Serena Munro)
Name Address Website Award
Sensorio 4380 Highway 46 East, Paso Robles, CA 93446 https://sensoriopaso.com/
Knott's Berry Farm 8039 Beach Blvd., Buena Park, CA 90620 http://www.knotts.com
The Last Blockbuster on Earth 211 NE Revere Ave., Bend, OR 97701 http://www.bendblockbuster.com Desirable Destination
Ford Wyoming Center 1 Events Drive, Casper, WY 82601 https://www.fordwyomingcenter.com/
University of California Botanical Garden at Berkeley 200 Centennial Dr., Berkeley, CA 94720 https://www.visitberkeley.com/directory/uc-botanical-garden-at-berkeley/
Les Schwab Amphitheater 344 SW Shevlin Hixon Dr., Bend, OR 97702 https://bendconcerts.com/
The High Desert Museum 59800 US-97, Bend, OR 97702 https://highdesertmuseum.org/
Harbor History Museum 4121 Harborview Dr., Gig Harbor, WA, 98332 https://harborhistorymuseum.org/
National Historic Trails Interpretive Center 1501 N. Poplar St. Casper, WY 82601 https://nhtcf.org/
Nicolaysen Art Museum 400 East Collins Drive, Casper, WY 82601 https://thenic.org/
Negranti Creamery 1211 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446 http://www.negranticreamery.com Sweet Treat

Glamping & Camping

Camp Sarika by Amangiri, Canyon Point, Utah (Courtesy of Amangiri)
Camp Sarika by Amangiri, Canyon Point, Utah (Courtesy of Amangiri)
Name Address Website Award
Amangani 1535 NE Butte Road, Jackson, WY 83001 https://www.aman.com/resorts/amangani Park Lodging
Camp Sarika by Amangiri 1 Kayenta Road, Canyon Point, UT 84741 https://www.aman.com/resorts/amangiri/camp-sarika Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
Flying Flags RV Resort 180 Avenue Of The Flags, Buellton, CA 93427 https://discoverbuellton.com/
REI Adventure Travel Signature Camping https://www.rei.com/adventures/t/signature-camping
Sun Outdoors San Diego Bay 825 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910 https://www.sunoutdoorssandiegobay.com
Under Canvas Lake Powell–Grand Staircase 555 South Jacob Tank Rd, Big Water, UT 84741 https://www.undercanvas.com/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
AutoCamp Yosemite 6323 CA-140, Midpines, CA 95345 https://autocamp.com/yosemite/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
Yonder Escalante 2020 West UT-12, Escalante, UT 84726 https://www.stayyonder.com/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats
AutoCamp Russian River 14120 Old Cazadero Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 https://autocamp.com/russian-river/ Ultimate Outdoor Retreats

Golf Resorts

Tetherow Resort, Bend, Oregon (Tetherow)
Tetherow Resort, Bend, Oregon (Tetherow)
Name Address Website Award
Huntington Lodge at Pronghorn Resort 65600 Pronghorn Club Dr., Bend, OR 97701 https://pronghornresort.com/stay-at-pronghorn/huntington-lodge/
Black Butte Ranch 13899 Bishops Cap, Sisters, OR 97759 https://www.blackbutteranch.com/
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 https://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/california/half-moon-bay
Tetherow Resort 61240 Skyline Ranch Road Bend, OR 97702 https://tetherow.com/
The Lodge at Torrey Pines 11480 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, CA 92037 https://www.lodgetorreypines.com
Waldorf Astoria Monarch Beach Resort & Club 1 Monarch Beach Resort N, Dana Point, CA 92629 https://www.waldorfastoriamonarchbeach.com/
Boulders Resort & Spa 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree,
AZ 85377
https://www.theboulders.com/
Sunriver Resort 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707 https://www.sunriverresort.com
The Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 7100 Aviara Resort Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011 https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/california/park-hyatt-aviara-resort/sanpa Rad Hotel Redesigns
Rancho Bernardo Inn 17550 Bernardo Oaks Drive, San Diego, CA 92128 https://www.ranchobernardoinn.com/

Outdoor Adventure

California Salmon River Safari, Ashland, Oregon (Momentum River Expeditions)
California Salmon River Safari, Ashland, Oregon (Momentum River Expeditions)
Name Address Website Award
California Salmon River Safari 3195 East Main St. #2, Ashland OR, 97520 Featured Listing
Redwood Sky Walk 3414 W Street, Eureka, CA 95503 https://redwoodskywalk.com/
Fly fishing in Central Oregon's River Canyon Country PO Box 731, Warm Springs, OR 97761 https://www.spinthehandle.com/
Stargazing at Utah’s Dark Sky Parks 300 N. State St., Salt Lake City, UT 84114 https://www.visitutah.com/
Whitewater rafting on the Deschutes River 304 Bakeoven Rd., Maupin, OR 97037 https://deschutesriver.com/
Bend Whitewater Park 166 SW Shevlin Hixon Dr., Bend, OR 97702 https://www.bendparksandrec.org/facility/bend-whitewater-park/
Orange Torpedo Trips 210 Merlin Road, Merlin, OR 97532 https://www.orangetorpedo.com/
B Bryan Preserve 130 Riverside Drive, Point Arena, CA, 95468 https://www.bbryanpreserve.com/
Lake Powell/Glen Canyon National Recreation Area 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.lakepowell.com/
Glacier National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.visitglacierbay.com/ True Escapes
Olympic National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.olympicnationalparks.com/ True Escapes
Denali National Park & Preserve 2850 E. Camelback Rd. Suite 240, Phoenix, AZ 85016 https://www.denaliparkvillage.com/ True Escapes

Shopping

5th Street Public Market, Eugene, Oregon (Courtesy of 5th Street Public Market)
5th Street Public Market, Eugene, Oregon (Courtesy of 5th Street Public Market)
Name Address Website
The Old Mill District 450 SW Powerhouse Dr., Bend, OR 97702 https://www.oldmilldistrict.com/
Liberty Station 3555 Rosecrans St., #114-210, San Diego, CA 92110 https://libertystation.com/
5th Street Public Market 296 E. 5th Ave., Eugene, OR 97401 https://www.5stmarket.com/
The Original Farmers Market 6333 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90036 https://farmersmarketla.com
Lou Taubert Ranch Outfitters 125 East Second Street, Casper, WY 82601 https://www.loutaubert.com/

Spa & Wellness Retreats

Golden Door, San Marcos, California (Rhiannon Taylor)
Golden Door, San Marcos, California (Rhiannon Taylor)
Name Address Website Award
Dr. Wilkinson’s Backyard Resort & Mineral Springs 1507 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515 https://drwilkinson.com/ Cool Retro Redos
Enchantment Resort 525 Boynton Canyon Road, Sedona, AZ 86336 https://www.enchantmentresort.com/
L'Auberge de Sedona 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336 https://www.lauberge.com/
The Ranch Malibu 12220 Cotharin Road, Malibu, CA 90265 https://theranchmalibu.com/
CIVANA Wellness Resort & Spa 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377 https://civanacarefree.com/
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515 https://www.romanspahotsprings.com/ Superlative Spas
Nobu Ryokan Malibu 22752 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265 https://malibu.nobuhotels.com/ Superlative Spas
Golden Door 777 Deer Springs Rd., San Marcos, CA 92069 https://goldendoor.com/ Superlative Spas
Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa 5921 Valencia Circle, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067 https://ranchovalencia.com/
Rancho La Puerta Carretera Mexicali-Tijuana K.M, 136.5 Rancho la Puerta 21520 Tecate, B.C., Mexico https://rancholapuerta.com/

Wine Tasting

Itä Wines, Walla Walla, Washington (Courtesy of Itä Wines)
Itä Wines, Walla Walla, Washington (Courtesy of Itä Wines)
Name Address Website Award
Oasis by Hoopes Vineyard 6204 Washington Street, Napa, CA 94558 https://www.hoopesvineyard.com/oasis-by-hoopes Winery Worth a Visit
Cliff Lede Vineyards 1473 Yountville Cross Rd, Yountville, CA 94599 https://cliffledevineyards.com/
Faith, Hope & Charity Vineyards 70450 NW Lower Valley Dr., Terrebonne, OR 97760 https://www.faithhopeandcharityevents.com/
Castoro Cellars Tasting Room and Disc Golf Course 1315 N. Bethel Rd., Templeton, CA 93465 https://castorocellars.com/
itä wines 600 Piper Ave., Walla Walla, WA 99362 https://itawinery.com
Amavi Cellars 3796 Peppers Bridge Rd., Walla Walla, WA 99362 https://www.amavicellars.com/
Eternal Wines & Drink Washington State 602 Piper Ave., Walla Walla, WA 99362 http://www.eternalwine.com
Jordan Vineyard & Winery 1474 Alexander Valley Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448 https://www.jordanwinery.com/
Alta Colina & The Trailer Pond 2825 Adelaida Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446 https://altacolina.com/
Frank Family Vineyards 1091 Larkmead Lane, Calistoga, CA 94515 https://www.frankfamilyvineyards.com/
Durant Vineyards 5430 NE Breyman Orchards Road, Dayton, OR 97114 http://www.durantoregon.com


Read the 2021 Wine Issue Right Here!

Get one year of Sunset—and all kinds of bonuses—for just $24.95. Subscribe now!