Biennial competition celebrates great home design in the West

ENTRIES CLOSED FOR 2010: Check back here in summer 2011 for entry information for our 2012 Western Home Awards.

The Western Home Awards, sponsored by Sunset and the American Institute of Architects, have been celebrating great home design for more than 50 years.

Our search for entries in our 2009-2010 competition began with some exciting new categories designed to showcase distinctive Western design.

Architects, designers, and owners of new or newly remodeled homes (completed after January 2007), from the 13 Western states and western Canada, were invited to submit completed designs in 6 categories:

  • Custom home
  • Residential Remodel
  • Green Home
  • Urban LIving Space
  • Indoor-Outdoor Living
  • Small space

2010 contest (now closed):

Download details and entry form (pdf)

Mailing address:

Sunset-AIA Western Home Awards
80 Willow Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025

Deadline for completed entry packages was August 17, 2009. Entry fee: $125.

Discounted entry fee for entries received by July 17, 2009: $75

Eligibility: Entries must be located in and be the work of registered architects in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, or western Canada.

An entry may be made by the architect, the homeowner, or the developer with consent of both architect and owner.

See the 2010 winners: 2010 Western Home Awards