Grand Canyon National Park guide

Whether it’s your first visit or your 100th, here’s your complete guide to Arizona’s wonderland

Raft the Colorado River

Paddling through the Grand Canyon is one of the great adventures you can have in your lifetime

rafting the grand canyon's colorado river

Courtesy of Forever Resorts

Click to Enlarge


Rafting the Colorado River is a memory you'll never forget. Trips range from 1-day excursions (on a portion of the river just outside the park) to 18 day trips through the entire canyon.

ONE-DAY COMMERICAL TRIPS

Smooth Water Raft Trips. Half-day and all-day trips on the Colorado River from Glen Canyon Dam to Lees Ferry are provided by Colorado River Discovery, LLC. Trips begin at Page, Arizona, a drive of 140 miles from the South Rim. 888/522-6644; raftthecanyon.com.

3-18 DAY COMMERICAL TRIPS
The following concessioners have been permitted to operate in Grand Canyon by the National Park Service; nps.gov/grca/planyourvisit/river-concessioners.htm.

Aramark-Wilderness River Adventures. riveradventures.com; 800/992-8022.

Arizona Raft Adventures, Inc./Grand Canyon Discovery, Inc. azraft.com; 800/786-7328.

Canyon Explorations/Canyon Expeditions. canyonexplorations.com; 800/654-0723.

Canyoneers, Inc. canyoneers.com; 800/525-0924.

Colorado River & Trail Expeditions, Inc. crateinc.com; 800/253-7328.

Diamond River Adventures, Inc. diamondriver.com; 800/343-3121.

Grand Canyon Dories. grandcanyondories.com; 800/877-3679.

Grand Canyon Expeditions Company. gcex.com; 800/544-2691.

Hatch River Expeditions, Inc. hatchriverexpeditions.com; 800/856-8966.

Moki Mac River Expeditions, Inc. mokimac.com; 800/284-7280.

O.A.R.S. oars.com; 800/346-6277.

Outdoors Unlimited River Trips. outdoorsunlimited.com; 800/637-7238.

Tour West, Inc. twriver.com; 800/453-9107.

Western River Expeditions, Inc. westernriver.com; 800/453-7450.

GET SCHOOLED IN THE WILDERNESS
The Grand Canyon Field Institute offers terrific programs that include classes in photography, natural history, and guided multi-day backpacking trips into the canyon. grandcanyon.org/fieldinstitute

Page 1

Advertisement

Insider Guides

Places We Love!
Enchantment Resort
For a most soothing Sedona experience, tuck yourself...